That He May Raise (2015)

My first book, That He May Raise, is a story of suffering and redemption in the tradition of Faulkner and O’Connor. As Steven Barthelme describes the book, “[That He May Raise] begins with a teenage boy in a tree with his longbow and closes with the same boy, now a priest and an Iraq War vet, alone in his small town confessional with his doubt.  The novella and four stories are shot through with religious wonder and peopled by the unchronicled population of rural South Alabama and Mississippi which Boudreaux knows like the back of his hand.  Deceptively, quietly, his stories evolve into a harrowing but riveting read as you come to understand, in the words of a young woman in one of the pieces, ‘This is what this place, these people are really like.’”

You can read more about That He May Raise at the website of the Livingston Press.

Advertisements