My Work

Animus Ebook CoverIt’s hard to pin me down to one genre.

I am currently at work on a novel called The Way Out, which is a sci-fi political thriller set in a near future.

My most recent fiction project––a series of post-apocalyptic fantasy novels called Animus––is a story about power, heroism, and sacrifice. It’s a meditation on what happens when the weak become strong and how the powerless respond to those who possess strength. The first book in this series, Animus: Little Gods, is available in print and paperback here..

My nonfiction book about superheroes, mythology, and politics will be published in late 2017. You can read more about that project here.

My first book, That He May Raise, is a story of suffering and redemption in the tradition of Faulkner and O’Connor. As Steven Barthelme describes the book, “[That He May Raisecover] begins with a teenage boy in a tree with his longbow and closes with the same boy, now a priest and an Iraq War vet, alone in his small town confessional with his doubt.  The novella and four stories are shot through with religious wonder and peopled by the unchronicled population of rural South Alabama and Mississippi which Boudreaux knows like the back of his hand.  Deceptively, quietly, his stories evolve into a harrowing but riveting read as you come to understand, in the words of a young woman in one of the pieces, ‘This is what this place, these people are really like.'”

You can read more about That He May Raise at the website of the Livingston Press.

In addition to my fiction, I have also published literary criticism on Flannery O’Connor, C.S. Lewis, and Robert Frost.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s